Celebrating young professionals who have significantly influenced safety performance and behaviour.

The Award is for individuals driving safety performance, developing a safety culture, or leading safety initiatives. It's open to any young aviation professional (18-30 years) in the early stages of their career, either employed or self-employed. In the last 12 months, they must have made an outstanding contribution to aviation safety.

2019 finalists

Bianca Barbarich-Bacher, First Officer, Mount Cook Airline (previously RidgeAir & Marlborough Aero Club)

Josh Haslemore, Chairman Auckland Air Patrol, Coastguard Northern Region

Jack Scott, CEO, NZ Drones


The winner of the 2019 Young Aviation Professional Award was Bianca Barbarich-Bacher. Read more about the winner.

Watch the 2019 finalists in action