Work together stay apart logoSafety seminars and educational roadshows.

These will be taking place during late 2023 and early 2024. Keep an eye on this page for new dates to be announced.

Circuit Certainty Seminar

Circuit Certainty is the final upcoming seminar as part of this campaign and will be held at Aerodromes, Aero Clubs, and Schools across New Zealand during August, September, and October.

The Circuit Certainty Seminar will focus on the roll out of our new GAP video about operations in the circuit. During the seminar, discussions will focus on how to make the circuit work for everyone, predictability, standard procedures, collaboration and working together. 

The sessions are roughly one hour and include a showing of the video followed by a question and answer session led by our team.

Location Date Time
Rangiora – Main Power Stadium Wednesday, 31 July 2024 7:00 pm
Timaru  - South Canterbury Aero Club
Thursday 1 August 2024 7:00 pm
Oamaru –Omaru Scottish Hall Tuesday, 6 August 2024 7:00 pm
Tarei – Otago Aero Club
Wednesday, 7 August 2024 7:00 pm
Invercargill – Southern Wings Invercargill Airport 
Thursday, 8 August 2024 7:00 pm
Hokitika – Hokitika Aero Club
Tuesday, 20 August 2024 7:00 pm
Motueka – Motueka Library Community Meeting Room
Wednesday, 21 August 2024 7:00 pm
Nelson - Nelson Aero Club
Thursday, 22 August 2024 7:00 pm
Wellington - Asteron Centre 
Monday, 2 September 2024 7:00 pm
Kapiti - Kapiti Districts Aero Club
Tuesday, 3 September 2024 7:00 pm
Masterton – Wairarapa Aero Club
Wednesday, 4 September 2024 7:00 pm
Hastings - Hawkes Bay and East Coast Aero Club  Thursday, 5 September 2024 7:00 pm
Wanaka – The Runway Lounge Thursday, 19 September 2024 6:00 pm
Whanganui - Whanganui Aero Club Wednesday, 25 September 2024 7:00 pm
Feilding - Colyton Hall  Thursday, 26 September 2024 7:00 pm
Hamilton/Te Kowhai -  Te Kowhai Aerodrome  Monday, 30 September 2024 7:00 pm
Matamata - Matamata Aerodrome
Tuesday, 1 October 2024 7:00 pm
Tauranga - Tauranga Aero Club  
Wednesday, 2 October 2024 7:00 pm
Gisborne - Gisborne Aero Club  
Thursday, 3 October 2024 7:00 pm
Kerikeri - Bay of Islands Aero Club  Monday, 14 October 2024 7:00 pm
Whangarei - Whangarei Flying Club  Tuesday, 15 October 2024 7:00 pm
Ardmore - Auckland Aero Club   Wednesday, 16 October 2024 7:00 pm
North Shore - North shore Aero Club
Thursday, 17 October 2024 7:00 pm
Omaka - Marlborough Aero Club
Tuesday, 29 October 2024 7:00 pm
Kaikoura - Kaikoura Memorial Hall Wednesday, 30 October 2024 7:00 pm
Online event Tuesday, 5 November 2024 7:00 pm

Work Together, Stay Apart: A seminar for aerodrome users 2024

The CAA is holding educational seminars for aerodrome users throughout 2024 called Work Together, Stay Apart: A seminar for aerodrome users.

The seminars aim to:

  • Share safety occurrence data related to activities at the specific aerodrome locations
  • Cover the four main rules being reinforced in the Work Together, Stay Apart safety campaign: 91.127 Use of aerodromes, 91.223 Operating on and in the vicinity of an aerodrome, 91.227 operating near other aircraft, and 91.229 right of way rules
  • Reinforce standardised procedures
  • Encourage users to work together to manage areas of shared risk
  • Emphasise the importance of reporting.

In 2023, seminars were held in Rangiora and Masterton, and so far in 2024 we've been to Oamaru, Matamata and Ardmore. As we confirm dates and additional locations for upcoming sessions, we’ll update the table below. We’ll be running 1 to 2 seminars per month, keep an eye out for more seminars as we add them.

Location Date Time
Whanganui – Whanganui Aero Club Tuesday, 16 April 2024 7:00 pm
Kapiti Coast - Airport Terminal Wednesday, 15 May 2024 7:00 pm
Hastings - Hawkes Bay and East Coast Aero Club Friday, 17 May 2024 6:30 pm
Omaka - Marlborough Aero Club  Wednesday, 12 June 2024 7:00 pm
North Shore - North Shore Aero Club Thursday, 20 June 2024 7:00 pm
Wanaka - Runway Lounge Tuesday, 25 June 2024 6:00 pm
Kaikoura - Kaikoura Memorial Hall Wednesday, 10 July 2024 7:00 pm

Plane Talking 2023

We’ve rolled out a new Good Aviation Practice (GAP) video, Plane Talking 2023, about standard radio calls. This video is the first educational product to be released as part of the Work Together, Stay Apart campaign.

An accompanying seminar was rolled out to aerodrome communities, aero clubs, and flying schools throughout New Zealand during September, October, and November 2023.

 Ask us about Work Together, Stay Apart

If you have any questions about this topic, use our contact form.